JIM BEAM’s first ever global marketing campaign!

Screen Shot 2014-01-30 at 16.57.39-2
And the spokesperson is (drumroll, please) Mila Kunis. I’ll admit, I was a bit skeptical when I first heard about this, thinking it’d probably be another one of those brand ambassador programs that uses a celebrity for the sake of….well, nothing really. Remember Catherine Zeta-Jones for T-Mobile? I only do because every time I saw one of the ads I wrinkled my nose and went, Huh? But I digress….
If you can, take a gander at the first video of the Making History campaign below, then we’ll discuss.

This is probably a good time to mention that I’m from Louisville (Looavul if you want to sound like a local) so my opinion on all things Kentucky and bourbon related are a little biased. That said, I think it’s pretty clever. We, as potential, customers are introduced to the brand through Mila’s tour. Jim Beam’s history is humanised, and we learn a little about distillation process and tasting methods. We are also introduced to Mila as the new face of the company so as the commercials, print campaigns and social media activations begin to roll out (in March) we’ll be looking for them.
The Make History campaign is multi-media, with activations in over 100 territories world wide including it’s biggest markets – Australia, Germany, and the UK (who knew?). Now if you’ll excuse me, I’m going to go buy myself some whiskey.
-Libby Oliver, CORD Entertainment.
LIBBY 4 BLOG
Leave a Reply

