CORD LA Playlist Monday: Drummers

Greetings, all! My name is Paul McPherson, and I am the Music Coordinator in the CORD LA office. One of the first memories I have involving music is sitting in the back of my parents’ car as a child and playing air-drums to every song that came on the radio. It didn’t take long for my mom to realize that I wanted to be a drummer and sign me up for lessons. I’ve been a fidgety, pencil-tapping annoyance ever since (which I am sure my fellow co-workers are just delighted about). You can only imagine how excited I was when I started working at CORD a little over a year ago and was told that they were working on a movie about jazz drumming called Whiplash, which then went on to earn numerous Academy Awards.

Through my experiences in high school jazz band, drum line, pit orchestra, and a number of very mediocre rocks bands, I gained a new respect for the masters of the craft and soon compiled a list of drumming heroes that I constantly tried to emulate. This playlist represents just a sample of whom I consider to be some of the best drummers to ever pick up a pair of sticks. It ranges from jazz greats like Buddy Rich and Joe Morello; to classic rock legends such as John Bonham, Keith Moon, and Steve Gadd; and current icons such as Travis Barker, Chad Smith, and Dave Grohl. Unfortunately, my favorite drummer, Danny Carey of the band Tool, does not currently have his work on Spotify; however, I highly suggest checking out the song “Ticks and Leeches” by Tool to hear some of Danny Carey’s incredible chops. Enjoy!
[spotify:https://open.spotify.com/user/12745094/playlist/3mHRa37mR3UbxNOmHxRLEA%5D

Leave a Reply

