CORD LA Playlist Monday: Go Folk Yourself

Hello beautiful people! This is Paul again, your friendly CORD LA music coordinator. When people find out that I work for a music company, I inevitably get asked: “So what kind of music do you listen to?” Usually I just rattle off my top five favorite artists at the time, but, like most people, my favorite music evolves and changes from season to season. I’ve gone through stages of listening to hardcore rock, punk rock, country, singer-songwriters, movie soundtracks, and so on. At the moment however, I find myself gravitating towards the resurgence of folk and Americana music that is hitting the U.S.

Americana, sometimes called “roots music,” is a loose genre label, which describes contemporary music that incorporates elements of country, rock and roll, bluegrass, blues, and other styles from America’s past. The most recent resurgence of Americana has been led by the likes of such artists as Mumford & Sons, Alabama Shakes, Zac Brown Band and many more. The sudden popularity of the genre has resulted in increased recognition on popular radio and a plethora of Americana themed music festivals across the U.S. such as the Newport Folk Festival, The Americana Music Festival, and The LA Bluegrass Situation, just to name a few.  Below is a playlist of some of my favorite artists that I have discovered from this genre so far. Enjoy!

[spotify:https://open.spotify.com/user/12745094/playlist/1HvtJC7jqSjQKGqY6tPKcd%5D
Leave a Reply

